Faculty honored at MCG Faculty Senate event

Dr. Walter J. Moore, Professor in the Department of Medicine and Senior Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education and VA Affairs at the Medical College of Georgia at Georgia Regents University, is the medical college’s 2015 Outstanding Faculty Award recipient.

A graduate of Georgetown University School of Medicine with a 27-year career in the U.S. Army before coming to the state’s public medical school, Moore is Chairman of MCG’s Graduate Medical Education Committee and Internal Residency Review Committee.

Moore was honored during the 2015 MCG Faculty Awards Ceremony.

In nominating Moore, Dr. Michael Madaio, Chairman of the MCG Department of Medicine, lauded Moore as an enthusiastic and committed leader, educator, physician, and mentor. “His commitment to MCG and GRU over the past 14 years encompasses outstanding contributions in education and clinical care,” Madaio wrote. “As importantly, he has been an institutional leader in education and service, and our medical students, trainees, and faculty have repeatedly recognized his personal and professional efforts in support of education, research, and clinical care.”

Moore is a member of the Executive Committee of the Georgia Regents Medical Associates Board of Trustees and has served on the medical school’s Admissions Committee since 2010. He has been recognized as one of America’s Top Doctors for the past 11 years by Castle Connolly Medical Ltd., placing him in the top 1 percent of physicians in the nation.  Moore was selected as an inaugural member of the Academy of Medical Educators in 2008 and continues as a member of the GRU’s Academy of Health Sciences Educators.

He served as Chief of the MCG Section of Rheumatology from 2000-13. Moore is a Master in the American College of Physicians and was recently elected Governor of the ACP’s Georgia Chapter.

Dr. Christopher Bradford White, Professor Emeritus in the Department of Pediatrics, received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

White is a 1978 graduate of the University of Virginia School of Medicine and had a 20-year career in the U.S. Army before coming to MCG. At MCG, he served as Director of Pediatric Student Education for nearly a decade, Co-Director of Community Faculty Development, and served for eight years as MCG’s first Associate Dean for Faculty Development and Educational Achievement. He helped establish the GRU Academy of Health Sciences Educators. His interests in medical education include technology, clinical bedside teaching, feedback, evaluation, clinical reasoning and faculty development.  He continues to practice general pediatrics and pediatric infectious diseases at Children’s Hospital of Georgia.

Other distinguished Faculty Awards went to:

  • Dr. Paul L. McNeil, Professor, Department of Cellular Biology and Anatomy, Basic Science Teaching
  • Dr. Alyce M. Oliver, Associate Professor, Department of Medicine, Clinical Science Teaching
  • Dr.  Neal L. Weintraub, Professor, Department of Medicine, Kupperman Eminent Scholar in Cardiovascular Medicine, Basic Science Research
  • Dr. Vincent J.B. Robinson, Professor, Department of Medicine, Clinical Science Research
  • Dr. Loretta s. Davis, Professor and Chief, Section of Dermatology, Department of Medicine, Patient Care Award
  • Dr. Chitra Subra Mani, Professor, Department of Pediatrics, Patient Care Award.
  • Dr. James V. Rawson, P.L., J. Luther, Ada Warren Endowed Chair and Chairman of the Department of Radiology and Imaging, Institutional Service Award
  • Dr. Quanguang Zhang, Assistant Professor, Department of Neuroscience and Regenerative Medicine, Outstanding Young Basic Science Faculty Award
  • Dr. Brian J. Miller, Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Health Behavior, Outstanding Young Clinical Science Faculty Award.

The Department of Pediatrics received the Outstanding Clinical Science Teaching Award from the senior class, and the Department of Pathology received the Outstanding Basic Science Teaching Award from the Class of 2017.

Dr. George L. Rainsford, Clinical Professor, Department of Family Medicine, and Site Coordinator for the family medicine clerkship site at Edgefield Medical Clinic in Edgefield, South Carolina, received the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society Volunteer Clinical Faculty Award.

Educator of the Year Awards from MCG students were presented to:

  • Lisa E. Leggio, Associate Professor, Department of Pediatrics, and Dr. John W. Odom, Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Surgery, Class of 2015
  • Stephen K. Lucas, Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine, Class of 2015 at the GRU/UGA Medical Partnership campus
  • Walter J. Moore, Professor in the Department of Medicine and Senior Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education and VA Affairs, Class of 2016
  • Jon Udwadia, Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Pediatrics, Class of 2016 at the Partnership campus
  • John F. Fisher, Professor, Department of Medicine, Class of 2017
  • Howard J. Cohen, Associate Professor, Department of Medicine, Class of 2017 at the Partnership campus
  • Puttur D. Prasad, Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Class of 2018
  • DeLoris Wenzel Hesse, Adjunct Instructor, Department of Cellular Biology and Anatomy, Class of 2018 at the Partnership campus.
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
Written by
Toni Baker

Toni Baker is the Communications Director at the Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University. Contact her to schedule an interview on this topic or with one of our experts at 706-721-4421 or tbaker@augusta.edu.

View all articles
Written by Toni Baker

Jagwire is your source for news and stories from Augusta University and AU Health. Daily updates highlight the many ways students, faculty, staff, researchers and clinicians "bring their A games" in classrooms and clinics on four campuses in Augusta and locations across the state of Georgia.

Read on for stories of innovation in education and health care, opportunities at the center of Georgia’s new cybersecurity hub, and experiential learning that blends arts and application, humanities and the health sciences.