MCG Faculty recognized for teaching efforts

More than 100 faculty of the Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University have been recognized with Exemplary Teaching Awards for their contributions to students and residents at the state’s medical school.

Awards for undergraduate medical education were based on quantity of teaching (number of students taught or number of lecture hours, for example) and student evaluations. Graduate medical education awards were based on innovations or impactful contributions, and awardees were nominated by MCG department chairs.

This year’s undergraduate medical education winners and their specialties were:

  • Michael Brands, Physiology
  • Susan Brickle, Family Medicine
  • Paul Browne, Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Janine Burgher-Jones, Family Medicine
  • Robert Byrne, Urology, GRU-UGA Medical Partnership
  • Richard Cameron, Neuroscience & Regenerative Medicine
  • Thaddeus Carson, Internal Medicine
  • Edward Chin, Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism
  • Janis Coffin, Family Medicine
  • Howard J. Cohen, Infectious Diseases, GRU-UGA Medical Partnership
  • Robert Collier, Internal Medicine
  • Rhonda Colombo, Infectious Diseases
  • Preston Conger, Cardiology
  • Rene Cormier, Internal Medicine
  • Price Corr, Surgery
  • Glen Dasher, Family Medicine
  • Mary Dement, Emergency Medicine and Hospitalists Services
  • Matthew Diamond, Nephrology
  • William Dolen, Pediatric-Allergy/Immunology
  • Angela Duke, Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Anna Edmondson, Cellular Biology & Anatomy
  • Greer Falls, Pathology
  • John Fisher, Infectious Diseases
  • Paul Forney, Family Medicine
  • Dixon Freeman, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Northwest Campus
  • Virgil (Thomas) Gaddy, Cellular Biology & Anatomy
  • Thomas Gale, Cellular Biology & Anatomy
  • Graydon Gonsalvez, Cellular Biology & Anatomy
  • Neil Goodman, Pediatrics
  • Hartmut Gross, Emergency Medicine and Hospitalists Services
  • Jaspal Gujral, Internal Medicine
  • Mark Hamrick, Cellular Biology & Anatomy
  • Rene Harper, Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism
  • Ryan Harris, GA Prevention Institute
  • David Hess, Neurology
  • Monte Hunter, Orthopaedics
  • Chiraq Jani, Internal Medicine
  • David Jester, Family Medicine
  • Christopher Jones, Emergency Medicine and Hospitalists Services
  • Darrell Jordan, Obstetrics & Gynecology
  • David Kriegel, Family Medicine
  • Lee LaRavia, Emergency Medicine and Hospitalists Services
  • Bruce LeClair, Family Medicine
  • Sean Lynch, Family Medicine
  • Annamma Mammen, Family Medicine
  • Pamela Martin, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
  • Dan McCollum, Emergency Medicine and Hospitalists Services
  • Michele McMahon, Internal Med
  • Nancy McNair, Neurology
  • Paul McNeil, Cellular Biology & Anatomy
  • Richard Melcher, Family Medicine
  • Namita Mohanty, Internal Med
  • Laura Mulloy, Nephrology
  • Gregg Nagle, Cellular Biology & Anatomy
  • Robert Nesbit, Surgery
  • Cheryl Newman, Infectious Diseases
  • Carol Nichols, Cellular Biology & Anatomy
  • Alyce Oliver, Rheumatology
  • William Pannell, Surgery, Southwest Campus
  • Jeremy Pantin, Hematology/Oncology
  • Richard Pawl, Emergency Medicine and Hospitalists Services
  • William Pearson, Cellular Biology and Anatomy
  • Dale Peeples, Psychiatry and Health Behavior
  • Allen Pelletier, Family Medicine
  • Jerry Pruitt, Neurology
  • Chadburn Ray, Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Scott Richardson, Internal Medicine, GRU-UGA Medical Partnership
  • Jose Rodriguez-Torres, Pediatrics
  • William Salazar, Internal Med
  • Ashley Saucier, Family Medicine
  • Rajiv Setia, Pediatrics, GRU-UGA Medical Partnership
  • Gyanendra Sharma, Cardiology
  • Clive Slaughter, Biochemistry, GRU-UGA Medical Partnership
  • Vanessa Spearman, Psychiatry & Health Behavior
  • Brett Szymik, Anatomy, GRU-UGA Medical Partnership
  • Andria Thomas, Curriculum
  • Joshua Thomas, Emergency Medicine and Hospitalists Services
  • John Thornton, Cardiology
  • Michael Toscano, Pathology
  • Timothy Trulock, Surgery
  • Jennifer Tucker, Emergency Medicine and Hospitalists Services
  • Jose Vazquez, Infectious Diseases
  • DeLoris Wenzel Hesse, Cellular Biology & Anatomy
  • Stephen White, Hematology/Oncology
  • Priscilla Woodhams, Pediatrics
  • Eric Zevallos, Emergency Medicine and Hospitalists Services

This year’s graduate medical education winners and their specialties were:

  • Adel Abuzeid, Surgery
  • Styles Bertrand, Orthopaedics
  • Kathryn Bollinger, Ophthalmology
  • Manuel Castresana, Anesthesiology & Perioperative Medicine
  • Janis Coffin, Family Medicine
  • William Davis, Surgery
  • Karen Draper, Surgical Oncology
  • David Fallaw, Internal Medicine
  • Richard Gordon, Emergency Medicine and Hospitalists Services
  • Daniel Kleven, Pathology
  • Kristopher Lewis, Radiology
  • Dion S. Macomson, Neurosurgery
  • Colleen McDonough, Pediatrics
  • Brian Miller, Psychiatry & Health Behavior
  • Sarah Mowry, Otolaryngology
  • Fenwick Nichols, Neurology
  • Dale Peeples, Psychiatry & Health Behavior
  • Bunja Rungrang, Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Pasha Schafer, Cardiology
  • Brian Stansfield, Pediatrics
  • Lane Ulrich, Ophthalmology
  • Thad Wilkins, Family Medicine
  • Carlos Zayas, Nephrology





Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
Written by
Jennifer Hilliard Scott

Jennifer Hilliard Scott is Senior Communications Coordinator at the Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University. Contact her to schedule an interview on this topic or with one of our experts at 706-721-8604 or

View all articles
Written by Jennifer Hilliard Scott

Jagwire is your source for news and stories from Augusta University. Daily updates highlight the many ways students, faculty, staff, researchers and clinicians "bring their A games" in classrooms and clinics on four campuses in Augusta and locations across the state of Georgia.

Students smiling for a photo in front of the James Brown statue downtown.