2018 Distinguished Alumni, Outstanding Young Alumni announced

Augusta University has announced the recipients for the institution’s 2018 Distinguished Alumni and Outstanding Young Alumni awards. The winners will be formally recognized during the university’s Alumni Weekend, April 27-29, 2018.

The following distinguished alumni will be recognized at their college events during Alumni Weekend:

  • Katherine Sweeney, BA ’82, MPA ’99, will receive the Distinguished Alumna Award for the Pamplin College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences.
  • Karyn Warren, BS ’98, Med ’00, EdS ’06, has been named the recipient of the Distinguished Alumna award for the College of Education.
  • Judith Stallings, BS ’86, PA-C ’90, MHE ’03, is set to receive the College of Allied Health Sciences’ Distinguished Alumna award.
  • Brett Mitchell, PhD ‘03, will receive The Graduate School’s Distinguished Alumnus award.
  • LaWanna Monday-Harden, BS ’98, will receive the Distinguished Alumna award for the Department of Athletics.
  • Sharon Pappas, BSN ’75, has been named the recipient of the College of Nursing’s Phoebe Kandel Rohrer Distinguished Alumna award.
  • Jennifer Detchemendy, BSN ’03, MSN ’08, will receive the E. Louise Grant Distinguished Alumna award.
  • Lloyd B. Schnuck, Jr., MD ’68, will be presented with the Medical College of Georgia’s Distinguished Alumnus for Loyalty award.
  • William S. Hagler, MD ’55, will receive the Medical College of Georgia Distinguished Alumnus for Professional Achievement award.
  • Erwin Reid, BBA ‘83, is set to receive the Distinguished Alumnus award for the Hull College of Business.
  • Bruce Ashendorf, DMD ’81, will be given The Dental College of Georgia’s Distinguished Alumnus award.
  • Lori Foster, BA ’94, has been named the recipient of the College of Science and Mathematics’ Distinguished Alumna award.

The institution’s Outstanding Young Alumni awards will also be recognized at their college events during Alumni Weekend.  This award will be given to emerging alumni leaders under age 40 who have made a significant impact in their career, community, and the university. Below is a list of those recipients:

  • Craig D. Albert, BA ‘01
  • Carolyn Clevenger, DNP ‘07
  • Reed Halterman, BSN ’11, MSN ‘14
  • Stephanie Johnson, MHS ‘08
  • Amber Lawson, DMD ‘06
  • George Lazari, MD ‘12
  • Heather Morin, BBA ’00, MBA ‘03
  • Derrick Quarles, Jr., BS ‘06
  • Ann Sturkey, Med ’10, EdS ‘11
  • Paul Trotter, DMD ‘10

To register for Alumni Weekend events, visit augusta.edu/alumniweekend. For additional information, contact the Office of Alumni Affairs at 706-737-1759.

Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
Written by
Danielle Harris

Danielle Harris is Senior Media Relations Coordinator at Augusta University. Contact her to schedule an interview on this topic or with one of our experts at 706-721-7511 or deharris1@augusta.edu.

View all articles
Written by Danielle Harris

Jagwire is your source for news and stories from Augusta University and AU Health. Daily updates highlight the many ways students, faculty, staff, researchers and clinicians "bring their A games" in classrooms and clinics on four campuses in Augusta and locations across the state of Georgia.

Read on for stories of innovation in education and health care, opportunities at the center of Georgia’s new cybersecurity hub, and experiential learning that blends arts and application, humanities and the health sciences.